Nikon Sport Optics Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800

M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800

The M-308 with BDC 800 reticle offers shooters unique open circle aiming points and hash marks from 100 to 800 yards.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 1080% of customerswould recommend this product.
Customer reviews for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Review 1 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Brilliant, crisp scope. Perfect for SCAR 17S

ViperGeek
Location :Merrimack, NH, USA
Nikon Family :21+ years
Experience :1-3 months
PostedApril 30, 2013
I've been a Nikon fan since forever (specifically, since the Paul Simon song "Kodachrome"). The first accessory for my S&W M&P 15 was the Nikon M-223 2-8x32 scope and I absolutely love it. When I purchased the FN SCAR 17S in .308 Winchester, there was no question what brand of scope was going to be mounted on it. During the recent $100 discount program, I ordered the M-308 4-16x42 with the BDC 800 reticle and continue to be impressed.
You'd expect nothing less than a brilliant, crystal clear optic from Nikon and this scope fits the bill. The magnification range is perfect for a .308 caliber rifle and after sighting it on a CTK P3 shooting rest, the scope has been laser accurate; much more accurate than the shooter. The eye relief is very forgiving up 'til about 12x after which eye position becomes more critical, but it's still manageable.
Overall, I am very satisfied with my purchase.
I recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Value? YES

jkwhitman
Age :45-54
Nikon Family :6-10 years
Experience :Less than a month
PostedOctober 9, 2013
--- Cons
- Tenebraex fiberglass ARD was very difficult to thread and because it's tapered, the scope cap doesn't fit: One might say use one or the other, but the cap protects the lens from contaminants.
- Parallax and eye relief could be better.
- Zoom could use slightly better ergonomics.
- Wish it had an illuminated reticle model.
--- Pros
- Came with an ARD. Unexpected nice surprise.
- Came with flip caps.
- Came with awesome one-piece factory mount - A first for me.
- Came with nice cleaning cloth.
- Locking / free side focus knob. Sweet.
- Solid turret zero locks.
- Glass is pretty good.
- Superb reticle.
We'll see how well it holds zero over zoom range.
Overall value: Excellent!
I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Hog Hunting with the M-308

Hawaiian Hog Hunta
Location :Hawaii
Nikon Family :2-5 years
Experience :6-12 months
PostedDecember 14, 2013
CONS: Does not give torque values for mounting scope.
PROS: The Nikon M-308 4-16x42 BDC scope with Spot-On technology is the most simplest scope to use. All you need to do is input your ammunition load data and the altitude, temperature, humidity and barometric pressure of your typical hunting area and that’s it. You can also add in wind speed & direction and the Nikon Spot-On program will give you all the yardages of your reticles aiming points. I have my scope sighted in a 100 yards and was able to drop a wild boar at 300 yards with one-shot from my AR10. The only guess work was to how much lead should be given at this walking hog. Other than that, all you need to do is aim and squeeze. The hardest part is packing out your game!
I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Cheap lesson

AR Pug
Location :Rock Valley, IA 51247, USA
Age :25-34
Nikon Family :0-1 years
Experience :Less than a month
PostedMay 10, 2013
I'd been debateing on a nikon for quiet awhile and boy am i glad i made the decsion to spend the money. Before this scope i had never really put much thought into the scopes i bought ( usually bought the low priced wal- mart special) After i spent the money on an RRA LAR-8 i didnt want just another regular scope so i searched and researched all scopes in the same price range and the nikon had the best and most hyped reviews.
Once It was mounted and sighted in I shot 12 rnds and had 1/2 moa shots consistenly. Bottom line this scope is worth every penny I will never think of going back to another cheap brand of scope. Nikon has made another customer for life.
I recommend this product.
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Outstanding product

Lex
Location :West Monroe, LA, USA
Age :45-54
Nikon Family :2-5 years
Experience :Less than a month
PostedOctober 2, 2013
Just got the M-308 mounted on my R-25, only had to put 12 rounds down range for a group of less than a 1/4 for 4 rounds. Shot an extra 4 that made the 12 rounds just to verify group. Measured out the same as first.
I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Perfect for 3Gun

Solscud007
Location :Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age :25-34
Nikon Family :0-1 years
Experience :Less than a month
PostedJune 29, 2013
I too bought this for my SCAR 17. My friend has the M-223 on his long range AR setup. When I tried to hit steel targets at 300 yds, with the iron sights, it was too difficult. I was seeing if I could compete in Heavy Irons division. you must shoot irons only and targets could be as far as 400 yds. My friend let me try his AR. The BDC made hitting steel at 300 and 400 too easy. Seeing the ease it took to hit steel I decided to get the M-308 and change divisions to Heavy Optics.
I just sighted it in yesterday and I am overjoyed at the results. It only took less than ten shots to hit steel at 200 yds. Then tested out the scope at 300 and 400 yd steel targets.
Contrary to another review, yes the scope is designed for 168 gr. However if you go onto SpotOn website, there is a ballistics match calculator. You can enter the scope and what bullet you are firing. I had some 150 gr fmj and there was a chart for that. The program tells you what the BDC should be for that specific round and the range each dot and point means on the reticle.
I love the ease of this scope and the price is fantastic.
I recommend this product.
+21points
26of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Great Scope!!!!

Jeff
Location :Arkansas, USA
Age :25-34
Nikon Family :2-5 years
Experience :6-12 months
PostedJuly 21, 2013
I have had this scope for about six months and I am very impressed so far! When I first got the scope I put it on with the supplied rings and base. I took it out and I could not get it within a foot of the target. I asked around and was told this had happened to a friend of a friend and that it was probably just my mount. I don't have it on an AR but I put it on my Remington 700 VTR .308 and being the mount was probably made with an AR in mind I was thinking the mount was the problem. To solve the issue I Put my Leupold rings and bases back on with this scope mounted in them. My rifle shoots like a dream now!!! I went out and was putting quarter size groups on the paper at 100 yards. I'm sure it's not the best I can do but now I know this scope was a great purchase!! This will be recommended to anyone who is looking for a great scope for a great rifle!!
I recommend this product.
+12points
22of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Excellent product for great peice

The Grunt
Location :St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age :45-54
Nikon Family :0-1 years
Experience :6-12 months
PostedSeptember 5, 2013
I shoot a Remington 700 SA .308 / 20" bull barrel (1x10) with a vortex flash hider also a Timney trigger. I use a Tubbs firing pin and spring set up with housing. The barrel has also been hand lapped. I think my Nikon M-308 scope and mount are a great product when properly mounted. They make it a whole lot nicer with the dial in zero for distance. The scope is a tough product and has quality with every part. I use a 168g open tip match bullets hornady with this set up the scope performs along with the rifle like a great high performance tool. very very tight groups from 100yds to 800yds. Worth the money
I recommend this product.
+7points
14of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Not holding zero

CliffG59
Location :Upstate NY....
Age :45-54
Nikon Family :6-10 years
Experience :1-3 months
PostedJune 2, 2014
This scope was good the first trips to range..... it's mounted on a AR-10 / LR-308. Now the scope is not holding zero...... Tube rings seem to loosen after several rounds and need to be consistently re-tightened..... Not a happy camper at 540.00 dollars for this scope.....
I would not recommend this product.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for M-308 4-16x42 BDC 800
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Based on 10 Reviews

Lacking all the turets

top
Age :55-65
Nikon Family :0-1 years
Experience :1-3 months
PostedJune 5, 2013
Like the scope but, all the other BDC scope I have bought come with different turets for different weight bullets. My M308 came with just one for 168 G bullets. I think Nikon should supply turets for every weight bullet for the calaber round. I so far can't even find the one I need from Nikon. Have to look a Leapol next time.
I would not recommend this product.
-45points
14of 73voted this as helpful.